Ethiopian Delight

20110908-054057.jpgWhile staying with a good friend here in Dallas, Texas, we’ve been having a cultural tour of the area restaurants. Vietnamese the first night (SO GOOD), Mexican the second (definitely delicious). Tonight was a special treat because I had my first Ethiopian meal. It was AMAZING!

But let me start at the beginning. First, we had to make several stops to even find an open Ethiopian restaurant. The first place where we stopped was locked and boarded up. The second doesn’t seem to have ever actually existed…a very odd Yelp review. So, it was a relief that we weren’t going to have to give up when we found Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant.

The whole experience was so much fun. We ate two plates of injera – one meat plate and one vegetable plate. Injera is a spongy flatbread that you tear off to scoop up the food from the plate. That’s right, kids! You eat with your hands! Tell mom and dad to take you right now.

To add to the fun, I had my first beets!  Yes, in 33 years, I’d never had beets until today.  They were okay.  Sweeter than I expected.

It was spicy, and sweet, and meaty, and goopy, and just generally delightful. You can see our results here:

20110908-054000.jpg

It’s been two hours and my hands still smell spicy…although a little odd, mixed with flowery soap.  Another interesting after-effect, my friend and I both found ourselves repeatedly clearing our throats post-meal.  With all of those spices, I guess it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise.

This is definitely an experience I would highly recommend, if you don’t mind getting your hands dirty (and if you wash your hands before eating….don’t be gross with your table-mates). This is also an experience I plan to repeat. My family should get to enjoy this, too!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

