Jesus – The Man, the Fish, the Tattoo?

I like the idea of a tattoo.  Obviously, I don’t have one.  And to be clear, I don’t like every tattoo or feel a desire to suddenly tattoo my entire body like people in tattoo aficionado magazines.  But I like the idea of a tattoo and I know several people who have them.  Since I admire the people and their interesting tattoos, it makes me think about getting one.

Probably the biggest holdout for me on the tattoo front would be picking something I would want to stick to for the rest of my life.  I’ve already ruled out the “family” related tattoo, the “hobby” related tattoo.  As I’ve narrowed it down in my mind, what I’ve come down to is the idea that it might be really interesting to get a tattoo that I feel reflects my commitment to Christ in some way.  So, I’ve been thinking about that a lot.  I especially like the idea of something that would be a reminder to me, something that would maybe influence my day-to-day living.

I started thinking about how the Bible talks about putting tassels on your garments to remind you of the Lord’s commands.  Maybe a tattoo could be my modern way of putting a tassel on, although it would have to be somewhere I could easily see it, which would probably violate one of my tattoo principles – putting it somewhere that 1) probably wouldn’t get seen by my parents (I know, I know, I’m a grown woman…), 2) would not interfere with my ability to work somewhere, 3) would not be a total embarrassment when I’m wrinkly.

Of course, having a visible reminder of my faith made me think of those “Jesus” fishes on cars.  If I put a “Jesus fish” on my body, will it have the same effects?  Will I forget that it’s there and not allow it to influence my choices?  Will other people see it there and make judgments about Christ because of my screw-ups?  Can I find something that reflects my faith without unintentionally also displaying an originally pagan symbol?  Do any of these things matter?!?!

If I could find something that would reflect these thoughts without taking up a whole limb, I might do it:

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me,
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

Thoughts?

4 responses to “Jesus – The Man, the Fish, the Tattoo?”

  1. Dorothea Lander says :

    I have a very close friend who had a small cross inside of a star of David so that IF she ever had the chance to deny her Lord, she could not. That is the best reason for a tattoo I’ve ever heard.

  2. Alan Davidson says :

    I like the idea of a tatoo also. I was thinking along the lines of a Ghanaian symbol of grace since that is where my wife and just spent a bulk of time. Still pondering it though.

  3. andthereyouhaveit says :

    I will try. But it has taken me forever to come up with my own, so don’t hold out hope! But perhaps it will come to me in a dream….you never know, I’ve had some pretty interesting dreams before, even when not pregnant!

Leave a Reply

