The Vacillations of Our Hearts

Ever been part of something where you feel torn between two sides?  Or been asked to choose between two very different positions?  This is something I’ve had happen to me a lot throughout my life.  It’s just recently, however, that I’ve really been struck by how those situations are excellent illustrations of why we are instructed clearly in John 15:4 –

“Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”

See, I find that the more time I spend with one side, the more I find myself agreeing with their position.  And even if I reach a point where I am passionately arguing for that side, given a little time spent with the other side, my heart begins to change.  I begin to see the other position.  I begin to agree with the other position.  I begin to agree with it more and more until I can actually start passionately arguing for THAT side against the original side I was JUST fighting for.

Thankfully, I’m not alone in the weakness of my convictions.  I only really realized it in myself when I saw it (and was annoyed by it) in other people.  That whole lesson we’ll save for another blog, but the reality is, we all do it.  We just don’t realize that we’re doing it most of the time.  Our hearts are so malleable, we can be completely changed in our positions, our values, our character without any real effort.  It’s why our moms are so concerned with who we hang out with.  It’s why we think carefully as adults about who we work for.  And it’s why God gives us a very direct statement that we’d better stick close to Him.  He knows that if we don’t, we’re going to slip away.  We just can’t help ourselves.

So, if you’ve made the decision to follow Christ, take the effort to stay close beside Him, whatever that looks like for you.  I don’t want you to be drawn away and changed without even noticing that it’s happening.  And have patience with others when they “flip-flop” positions on you.  They probably don’t even realize they’ve done it.  Instead, keep that truth in your heart and see how it influences your own behavior.  You might be surprised.

Leave a Reply

