Only in Dreams: It’s a Prom Dress Showdown!

Context:  Here, have a new category!  And enjoy the weird sleeping mind under the influence of pregnancy hormones.

I’ve always been a vivid dreamer.  I can still remember dreams from early childhood.  However, I don’t think there’s anything quite like the weirdness of the dreams I’ve had while I’ve been pregnant.  Most of them are actually quite awful, so I don’t want to share those with you, but I thought you’d like to be included in this one.  Okay, here we go.

The dream starts in a department store – maybe JC Penney?  I know that the store is closing in 10 minutes, so I have to hurry.  There are young women rushing around everywhere, grabbing items off the racks, making their last minute decisions.  I am becoming more and more frantic.

I’m standing in the fancy dress section – my women readers will know what I mean.  It’s the area where all of the homecoming and cocktail and prom dresses hang, sequins shining in the storelights with the promise of an evening of youthful delight.  I realize that I am looking for a prom dress.  I search rack after rack, unsatisifed, entirely skipping some racks because I know from a glance that they don’t have what I need.

At that moment, my eyes raise and connect with someone across section from me.  I suddenly know exactly what I’m looking for and why I’m having such a difficult time.  And this person is the only one in the store who can stand in my way…because I know she’s looking for the exact same thing I am…

A maternity prom dress.  Yes, that’s right.  I’m looking for a pregnancy prom dress.  And for some reason, my also pregnant co-worker is there in the store doing the same thing.  I just KNOW that she’s going to get the last one.  My anxiety level immediately shoots up.  Not only do I have to get to this dress before she does, but I have to find it before the store closes.  The clock is ticking.  I can hear the sounds of “24” coming back from commercial – boop boop, boop boop.  And suddenly…

I wake up.  The alarm goes off.  So, I guess we’ll never know if either of us found the pregnancy prom dress before the store closed.  Why were we looking for pregnancy prom dresses anyway?  It wasn’t like I was imagining us back in high school.  We were our current age.  Seriously weird.

Stay tuned.  Who knows what I’ll dream tonight?  Pregnancy scuba gear?

3 responses to “Only in Dreams: It’s a Prom Dress Showdown!”

  1. mefkin says :

    Orlando needs a maternity Prom/ Bridal/ Scuba Shop.

  2. mefkin says :

    Destiny, no. Density, maybe.

Leave a Reply

